What certifications will make me more appealing for jobs in law enforcement?

Someguy412Someguy412 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

I've been a tech guy my whole life. I've built and repaired dozens of computers, and do my best to keep up to date with the latest tech. I'm currently in law enforcement and assigned to their cyber crime unit. They mostly put me there because out of the whole department, I had the widest depth of knowledge. This isn't saying much, mostly because none of the other guys were good with computers at all. My department has sent me to law enforcement training classes, most are two to five day courses which focused on; social media investigations, mobile device investigations, legal concerns for law enforcement when it comes to computers, ect. I have attended 11 of these courses.

That being said, I want to make myself more marketable for other departments in law enforcement, mostly with the feds.

I currently have no offical IT Certifications. My Undergraduate degree was in Psychology.

My goal is to make myself more appealing when it comes to law enforcement jobs, but I'd like to avoid certifications that would be considered a waste of time and money. I'd be paying for everything myself.

I was looking at the CEH exam. So I decided to give myself a self test on skillset.com. I was rated as being 40% ready. Is it possible to just study and take this exam? Where would you guys start if your ultimate goal is to be a Special Agent focusing on computer crimes?

I feel lost and am not sure what I should pursue first. I don't mind spending the money, so long as it makes me more desirable.

Feedback? Thoughts?

Thanks

Comments

• techfiendtechfiend Member Posts: 1,481 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Security+ is a good starting point and is recognized by government. For many of us certs are a means to an interview through HR thus I would find job postings of positions that interest you and see what certs they look for.