which way should I lean towards

fredlwalfredlwal Member Posts: 44 ■■■□□□□□□□
So I'm new to security but I work on the desktop side of things, now the current job that I am in , I don't get a chance to touch security should I start off with security + cert and then move to CISSP?

Comments

• NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Pretty much every IT job touches security... Id say get your Sec+ and you can see more of what I'm referring to.
  • ITSpectreITSpectre Member Posts: 1,040 ■■■■□□□□□□
    fredlwal wrote: »
    So I'm new to security but I work on the desktop side of things, now the current job that I am in , I don't get a chance to touch security should I start off with security + cert and then move to CISSP?

I would start with Sec+ then get your CISSP or OSCP or eJPT. There are many routes to go, and different certs to get....
    In the darkest hour, there is always a way out - Eve ME3 :cool:
    “The measure of an individual can be difficult to discern by actions alone.” – Thane Krios
  • beadsbeads Member Posts: 1,531 ■■■■■■■■■□
    We pretty much answer this question at least once a week.

First, you should get some IT experience while working on your requirements to sit for the CISSP or take the SSCP and do it right. We have many, many people who have cheated the rules only to be found to be "lacking" knowledge later. It ain't pretty but I for one am more than happy to assist in finding more appropriate employment in another field.

Please read the requirements to sitting for the CISSP. Decide what area you would most likely wish to pursue: be that red team, blue team, audit, BCP/DRM or GRC. No one does everything anymore so there is no "Security guy" who does everything or they just aren't that good at anything. You will start to specialize rather quickly.