Options

CCDA: Now or Later?

SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
So here's another incarnation of a classic (read "tired") question: After passing CCNA, how "big" is CCDA, in comparison? It's difficult to tell from the objectives on Cisco's site, but I would imagine that some things overlap. I guess what I'm wondering is, will the time I spend studying for CCDA be comparible to the time I spend studying for CCNA?

I'm working on a lot of Cisco equipment at my current job, but I'm studying to take some Linux certs at the present time. (There's lots of Unix/Linux work to be done, as well.) After I've gone through the LPIC track, I'm planning on working towards CCNA. The long-term plan is to go back and finish up my MCSE: Security once I'm finished with CCNA, but the CCNA is going to get the time it needs. I was pondering whether or not I should spend some extra time before I get back to my MCSE work, maybe take another month or two to take the CCDA, or if I should head on back over to the Microsoft world and do it later on.

In the end, after my trek through Linuxland and Microsoft-world, I plan on hitting the Cisco certs for as long as it takes. I'd love to take CCNP, CCDP, CCSP, and maybe CCIP. (Real long-term plans.) I just feel like the clock is ticking on the MCSE, and I'd like to be through the next four tests by next summer. What do you guys think, will CCDA add months and months of extra study time to my break from MCSE, or should I just do the CCNA and CCDA in one long stretch, back-to-back?

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.

Comments

• Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Later probably works best -- unless you get a job with a Cisco Business Partner and they need someone for a role that requires the CCDA.