CCNA or MCSE?

DDStimeDDStime Member Posts: 113 ■■■□□□□□□□
Been cert stagnant for two years (after CISSP) and feel energized to shoot for another one.

I would love to shoot for a cert that gave me practical knowledge and increased my value to employers.

I'm a sys admin, but don't want to be one forever and am looking for a challenge. I deal with a lot of security as well.

What do you think CCNA or MCSE?

Comments

• gorebrushgorebrush Member Posts: 2,743 ■■■■■■■□□□
  • SimridSimrid Member Posts: 327
    I would also say CCNA, but that's because I love networking so I am biased. One thing I would say is that the MCSE is "worth more" than a CCNA in comparison, I believe. So, perhaps looking at going for a CCNP.
    Network Engineer | London, UK | Currently working on: CCIE Routing & Switching

sriddle.co.uk
    uk.linkedin.com/in/simonriddle
  • OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    Which CCNA and which MCSE? Where are you starting from? If you have CCENT, then CCNA R+S is a no brainer. If you have MCSA Server 2012, then maybe one of the MCSEs isn't too much to shoot for.

Very roughly, the CCNA is about the same as MCSA, and MCSE is about the same as CCNP or CCIE Written (depending on the MCSE). I say this as someone who failed the last of the MCITP Enterprise Administrator exams, and someone who has studied for the CCNP R+S.

Both are good options for a sys admin or for someone in Info Sec, but because the MCSE is likely harder, it will generally be worth more.
    2017 Goals - Something Cisco, Something Linux, Agile PM
  • DDStimeDDStime Member Posts: 113 ■■■□□□□□□□
    gorebrush wrote: »
    CCNA, imo.
    Noted. Any reason why? Or is it just preference?
    Simrid wrote: »
    I would also say CCNA, but that's because I love networking so I am biased. One thing I would say is that the MCSE is "worth more" than a CCNA in comparison, I believe. So, perhaps looking at going for a CCNP.

When you say "worth more" are you talking about knowledge or employment?