Options

Help desk advice

annsmithannsmith Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, just looking for career advice here. I've been working as an IT support for almost 5 yrs and I specialize in AVAYA platform, I was part of the Telecom Team, a division of the IT department. I just recently moved to hawaii and I don't find any company that hires an avaya support, I am thinking of applying as a help desk support, I'm an ITIL and CompTIA A+ certified, will that work? I had an interview 2 weeks ago and I haven't heard anything from them (the post is still open), my worries are that I don't have a help desk experience and english is not my first language, its dragging my confidence level. Any advice in getting an IT entry level post here in hawaii? I would really appreciate it.
thank you.

Comments

• Options
    Russ5813Russ5813 Member Posts: 123 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You have the experience and the certs, which makes you a competitive applicant for helpdesk. If you're having trouble finding/landing a job, you might not be doing a well enough job communicating your skills to potential employers. I don't say this because English is your second language; I say this because there are tons of native English speakers who have the same problem every day. Identify the desired knowledge/skills/abilities in the job posting, then talk about them in your resume. Have someone review your resume to check for errors and point out areas that may need improvement. Also consider working on your interviewing skills. Look up some common interview questions, write them down, and practice how you would respond to them. Brush up on some technical questions, too, if you feel that you may be weak in some areas.

Best of luck!