Thoughts on University Certifications for Technologies

DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
Couple of items to note.

The one I am speaking of if in regards to Database Technologies. The total cost is 4,500 or more, however my work is paying for it. It's branded with the local state universities name.

There is a series of courses ~ 14 or so that are required to complete before you get the certification in database technology.

Do you view these as cheesy or can they add good value to your resume. What I am looking to avoid is making myself look cheap, but on the other hand it is from a fairly prestigous university in the area and it directly ties to my field, at least a large part of it. It also cost ~4500 or more to go through the program so there is that piece as well.

Thoughts on listing this?

One other point, since it is academic in nature would this list out in your degree section or your certification section. Right now I have a BS and MBA so I am concerned grouping them all together could get confusing.

Thanks!

Comments

• beadsbeads Member Posts: 1,531 ■■■■■■■■■□
    If I am reading your post correctly, this is a non-chartered school set of certifications, i.e. not a college or University. If so, I'd put this coursework with third party certifications like SANS, CompTIA+, ISC(2) or ISACA.

Once on the resume just give it the sniff test so to say and ask yourself if it makes sense or does it appear a bit "me too".

- b/eads
  • PJ_SneakersPJ_Sneakers Member Posts: 884 ■■■■■■□□□□
    I think this is how schools are trying to stay relevant. Kind of like how every degree has a specialization now.

I'd list the studies under education. But that's just me, and I could be wrong. It is credit-awarded college coursework from an accredited college, right?
  • DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■