Options

Converting MAC adress Colon notation to Dot Notation

FrankGuthrieFrankGuthrie Member Posts: 245
I have have a long list of IP addresses with the following notation:
XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX

I want to have that converted to:
XXXX.XXXX.XXXX

I have a lot of MAC addresses I need to trace to find out which port they are behind. But to do this I first want to reformat the whole batch. I have found the following website:
https://www.vultr.com/tools/mac-converter/?mac_address=08%3A00%3A0F%3A89%3A91%3AAF

But I can do only 1 at the time. I have a few hundred i need to reformat. The website only let's me allow to do one by one.

How can I do this the fastest way? Excel? And please I'm not good with formulas ( in Excel), so a little help is appreciated. Also my skill with scripting are lacking.

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Are you trying to convert a MAC to a different format or find the IP for a MAC? A MAC can not just be translated into the corresponding IP.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    If I understand correctly you want to convert a list of AA:BB:CC: DD:EE:FF to AA.BB.CC.DD.EE.FF. Right? I am unsure if you are trying to automate something or if we are talking about a one-time thing. If the list is static you can do this in Excel and just do a FIND for the colon character and REPLACE with the dot character. If automating I am sure there's some very basic script out there if you look for it.
  • Options
    pinkiaiiipinkiaiii Member Posts: 216
    you need someone who can do simple php script just to emit every 1,3,5 : symbol ,if you have some time id look at this excel examples,since seems not so hard if you can crack it,and make your output as you desire: https://www.excelcampus.com/keyboard-shortcuts/concatenate-range-of-cells/
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod