CCNA or Security+?

jplondonjplondon Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I graduated with an IT degree in 2007 with an emphasis in networking and security and have since been an English teacher for over 8 years. I'm looking to change occupations and preferably get into an SOC or security analyst type role. I recently passed the Network+ and the CCENT and am thinking about what to study next (ICND2/Security+?) in order to best boost my chances. Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• TrucidoTrucido Member Posts: 250 ■■□□□□□□□□
    As a person with no certifications, you may not want to take my word for it; But I would say CCNA first and then Sec+
    2017 Certification Goals
    CompTIA A+ [ ] CompTIA Net+ [ ] CompTIA Sec+ [ ] CCENT [ ] ITIL [ ]
  • doctorlexusdoctorlexus Member Posts: 217
    Finish the CCNA first.
  • RemedympRemedymp Member Posts: 834 ■■■■□□□□□□
    It would make more sense to just skip to CCNA: Security.
    Remedymp wrote: »

Be careful with this one. The passing score is significantly higher and the test is $250 instead of $150. You don't want to find yourself $500 and 2 attempts in, saying "I should have just done CCNA R&S".
  • SwaswaswaSwaswaswa Member Posts: 45 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Be careful with this one. The passing score is significantly higher and the test is $250 instead of $150. You don't want to find yourself $500 and 2 attempts in, saying "I should have just done CCNA R&S".

Did Cisco change the rules or have you always been able to skip R&S and go to Security?
    Swaswaswa wrote: »
    Did Cisco change the rules or have you always been able to skip R&S and go to Security?

Yeah, in 2013 when Cisco moved to the 100-101 exam for ICND1, CCENT became the sole prerequisite for a few different CCNA tracks, including Security and Wireless.
  • ITSpectreITSpectre Member Posts: 1,040 ■■■■□□□□□□

I second this.... You have already met the requirement

Prerequisites for CCNA Sec