Craziest qualifications asked about in interview or job application?

TechytachTechytach Member Posts: 140
I just applied for an entry level network job that, I kid you not, asked me for the name, location, and dates I went to my ELEMENTARY school. (in addition to so much more, that was just the craziest) And I have a college degree. I don't even remember the name of my elementary school. Needless to say I just left it blank, attached my resume, and am not giving a icon_exclaim.gif

Comments

• Basic85Basic85 Member Posts: 189 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I've seen it before too and you were right for leaving it blank. I think it was just some silly application template they got but just didn't remove that part.
  • Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I had the same once as it was a security role in the corp office of a large retailer. When you get there they make EVERYONE fill out the same application.
  • HP_GuyHP_Guy Member Posts: 77 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I agree that it must surely be completely irrelevant which elementary school you went to, but...can you seriously not remember the name of it? Is that common? I presume elementary is the same as our primary schools that you attend for 7 years (age 4 - 11).

:)
  • OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    On the other hand, I've seen people put this kind of thing on their resumes - usually because it was some fancy private school. Which to me basically just says "Employ me because we have the same background" rather than "Employ me because I can do the job". You can always tell a Milford man.
    2017 Goals - Something Cisco, Something Linux, Agile PM
  • TrucidoTrucido Member Posts: 250 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Where did you go to elementary school?
    "Home."

Burn.
    2017 Certification Goals
    CompTIA A+ [ ] CompTIA Net+ [ ] CompTIA Sec+ [ ] CCENT [ ] ITIL [ ]
  • beadsbeads Member Posts: 1,531 ■■■■■■■■■□