Should I skip an MTA as a new developer?

CeltNinjaCeltNinja Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey forum friends! I have a question for all of the experts that have already traveled down this path.

I'm a pretty fresh web developer. I've been working on small side projects and such off and on for the past few years. A few websites - and a few website fixes, and a few Wordpress child themes things like that....all HTML and CSS. I can write a few lines of Javascript and Razer, but not nearly enough of either one to say that I know them. I've got a portfolio, that I'm not at all happy with. I guess it looks okay, but I'm not feeling it - I REALLY want to design a new one, but nothing fancy; just clean and professional. I also have a Github that I've got a few (maybe a dozen or more) code bits uploaded too..some demos like a few fancy CSS menus, and such.

I went to ITT Tech for a few years, working towards a BAS in Computer Science. I took the usual classes about building/troubleshooting PCs, Linux, Win Server. I took a few years off and then went to Full Sail, working towards a BAS in web development. I took a lot of classes covering all of the usual stuff - Photoshop layouts, Illustrator layouts, color theories, HTML and CSS classes.

I ran out of money and I'm not eligible for any more loans or grants, so college is currently on a back burner until I take care of some of my loans.

So then, all of that being said, I'm now 31 and I still don't have a proper IT career and I'm going to do what I can to get started finally.