Next step after 98-364.

adamseadamse Member Posts: 6 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I just passed the MTA: 98-364 Database Fundamentals exam. 79 out of passing 70 score - self-training (installed SQL Server 2012, started with the SSMS 6 weeks ago) and took many helpful pointers from the forum. Thank You for the guidance.

I need to take the next steps and it's a unique situation.

Questions:

1. I don't have any experience in corporate/work settings and I want to be in a 'database environment" and see how things work. Where can I go for this?

2. I want to know if I am even hire-able at this point - or is this too far-fetched of an idea? I have a bsc in comp.sci, but the curriculum didn't touch on SQL (just a bit of MS Access), and I find that I like working with databases, data analysis etc. (googling, I ended up reading about Tableau, misc visualization tools - neat stuff) and the bug has bit .

3. I would like to work as a data analyst or in BI - but since the next step on the MCSE: Business Intelligence track is 70-461 and calls for WORK-EXPERIENCE. Perusing through the 70-461 EXAM thread, it looks like this exam is not for the faint of heart.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/learning/mcse-sql-business-intelligence.aspx

4. I am currently looking to get a foot in the door - will any other qualifying exam help? 70-480 maybe? (i did learn HTML/CSS in college and good at grasping concepts) - and can get some other IT work? Will this convince some employer to take a risk and hire me?

5. If negative on qn.4, how should I proceed to the next step on the BI track?

Thanks for taking the time to read through.

Comments

• EagerDinosaurEagerDinosaur Member Posts: 114