Options

Group policies are not applied in Hyper-V environment.

IgroIgro Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello friends! I'm digging into GPOs here and already have some problems. I've got the active directory in entirely virtual space here - all machines are running by Hyper-V. What I've got here: Windows Sever 2012 R2, Windows 8 Pro and Windows 7 Pro (Hyper-V itself is running on Windows 10 Educational (all the rest are educational licences too)). The AD works fine. I decided to test the GPO to remove the clock from notification area first.

So it didn't work. I've made a ping from server to client and vice versa and one of them didn't work. I switched the firewalls off everywhere and then pings finally worked. But GPOs didn't work anyway. I used GPUPDATE command on the host in question (Win 8 here) and it didn't work, even when i run PowerShell in administrator mode. I'm not a PRO, so i can't find where is the problem. Sorry if this has been questioned may times.
icon_study.gif

Comments

• Options
    AndersonSmithAndersonSmith Member Posts: 471 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Run a gpresult command on the client in question and check to see if it's actually applying the policy. Also check to see if there are any conflicting GPOs with higher precedence or that are enforced that may be causing problems. If it's a user policy check to make sure the user is in the correct OU the GPO is applied to and if it's a computer policy check to make sure the computer is in the correct OU the GPO is applied to. Start with the gpresult command first and see what that tells you. I hope that helps. Group Policy can be a nightmare even for seasoned admins
    All the best,
    Anderson

"Everything that has a beginning has an end"
  • Options
    DojiscalperDojiscalper Member Posts: 266 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Also remember the order the policies get applied; Local, Site, Domain, Organizational Unit.