Options

Passed CISSP on 04July16

agargavagargav Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

After a long struggle of 5 months, finally I have passed my CISSP exam on 04th July. Thank you all for your wonderful advices on this forum and keeping me motivated for the exam.:D

Background:
I have around 8 years of experience majorly in Identity & Access Management and Security Operations domain with bits and piece of knowledge in Networking, BCP, DRP...

Preparation:
I started my preparation from 1st Feb with Eric Cornard's 3rd edition (daily ~3hours). That is the book with no-nonsense approach, material is direct to point and explained very well. I started creating notes and completed that by mid of March.
My approach was to write only on one side of my notebook while reading Eric Cornard's book.

Then from March mid, I started with Sybex CISSP 7th edition and started listening to Shon Harris audios. Sybex is the key for CISSP, things are explained in a very easy format and chapter wise division kept things in proper order. While reading this book, I was continuously referring to my notes as well, and was relating the topics. The goal was to cover what is missed in any of the books.
This time I was writing on the other side of my notebook (the pages that I intentionally left blank while preparing them).
By end of this book, I was having good notes ready for me with summary of both the books next 2 each other.

I completed Sybex by mid of May, and then booked the date for my exam.
Now was the time for questions, I purchased CCCure license for a month, did a plenty of them, did all the practice test provided by Sybex, Eric Cornard and Shon Harris. Frankly speaking, I never received 80% or + in any of my exams, I was always close to 75 - 79%, but I kept learning where I am wrong and why. Instead of judging my study on % I was always focusing on what went wrong with questions and where I missed.