First Attempt at 70-410

jdeckjdeck Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
Took my first wack at the 410 today and failed with a 653/1000 icon_sad.gif ....so close.

I need to vent a little bit here. I was by no means overconfident but I'm somewhat shocked after seeing what the 410 actually looks like. I have been working solely in the sys admin role for about 3 years, I even built our 2012 R2 Hyper-V Cluster for our company. I have been studying lightly for about a year and got very focused within the last 2 months. I used KnowledgeNet courses/quizzes paid for by my company and took their live classes. I also used the Mark Minasi book (but I will be honest I skimmed through it) and Certblaster (since I found certblaster helpful in the past). Recently, I could get 90% on any type of 410 quiz. The actual exam was very different than I thought. It felt like it was 60%-75% powershell everything. I can even say that I completely understand subnetting. I figured it would give me an edge, but I only remember about 2-3 subnetting questions. I have 3 more retakes built into my voucher so I'll try again in another two weeks. I'm going to spend my time re-reading the Mark Minasi book very carefully and make sure I know ALL powershell commands. I feel a bit like my score doesn't reflect my knowledge of the 410 material but simply "my knowledge of the 410 material and how do it all with powershell". I've passed the A+, Net+, Serv+ first try and MS clearly makes those exams seem "easy".

Comments

• gespensterngespenstern Member Posts: 1,243 ■■■■■■■■□□
    MCSA 2012 is no joke. One of the hardest exam sets. I failed mine multiple times as well, while I'm usually "passed on the 1st attempt" type of person and tend to overprepare.
  • AndersonSmithAndersonSmith Member Posts: 471 ■■■□□□□□□□