Me vs. RHCSA

masqmasq Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone.
First I want to say - this is gonna be one of those threads like "RHCSA help" or "My RHCSA studies" and so on, with the only difference that I don't treat such forum threads like my own personal blog, so I'm not going to post things like:
"Day 1. Today I studied X for Z hours, still got Y things to learn"
"Day 2. Blablabla.."
I bet you got me right.
Why rhcsa ?. - Got a job offer, the company's IT-infrastructure is RHEL-centric, so I thought it would be wise enough to get certified. Besides, I realized that it is time to say "Farewell" to my beloved sysVinit, as all major distros already switched to systemd, not to mention that RH company absorbs the most perspective technologies like kvm, ansible, to name a few. Well, that's how I see things.

So yeah.. Starting my rhcsa journey, any tips for me ?
How long will it take to finish rhcsa studies? Like, I do have previous linux experience, but I don't know anything about RHEL-specific things, and I already started to forget how to use yum and rpm, lol..
Anyway.. I'll appreciate all of your recommendations.
Thanks.
2018:
  • RHCE

Comments

• BodanelBodanel Member Posts: 214 ■■■□□□□□□□
    First time I took RHCSA it took me about 5 months but with up and downs. It was about 3 years after finish my bachelor and during those 3 years I didnt study anything except tutorials needed for work. When you get such a large break from learning it's very hard to start again but I suggest to not give up and continue.
    When I decided to go for RHCSA I used lots of labs. I think this is the best method for learning.
    Take the exam objectives one by one. Read about it, try to gasp the concept, dont memorize it.
    Try labbing that objective. If it works, good for you. Most of the times this will not work since maybe you didnt get the concept, you missed a step or something like this. But this will help you later when you'll need to debug something