Options

Lab Box

Trying to put together a lab box on the cheap. From what I've read, it needs to be 64bit and support hardware virtualization for KVM.

I already have an extra Celeron G1840 processor, which meets the above requirements. And I have an extra case and PSU. I can pick up a cheap H81 motherboard, 4GB RAM, and a refurb 160GB HDD at my local Microcenter for $66. I've also got an extra 1280x1024 monitor I can use.

Seem like that will work alright?

Comments

• Options
    doctorlexusdoctorlexus Member Posts: 217
    And I suppose it would help if I mentioned what I'm studying for: RHCSA
  • Options
    hiddenknight821hiddenknight821 Member Posts: 1,209 ■■■■■■□□□□
    I believe you can get a beefier setup on eBay with a little more than $66. You'd be surprised with what you can get from there. I wish I've done this years ago. Head over to the Virtualization forum on TE and check out the home lab threads to get better idea what you can find there.
  • Options
    varelgvarelg Banned Posts: 790
    I assume you will be doing hardware install of Red Hat/CentOS 7 on that machine. And that will be done for the sake of the virtualization objective of the RHCSA exam.
    VMWare freeware supports nested virtualization, if KVM is the only reason why you would consider hardware installation of Linux. Linux is very finicky when it comes to running on commodity hardware. I have dual boot on my Windows laptop but I rarely am booting into my Linux partition. Vast majority of my prep was done on VirtualBox. As far as hardware specs, 16 GB of RAM and a tad outdated A8 processor did the trick.
  • Options
    doctorlexusdoctorlexus Member Posts: 217
    Thanks for the replies. Alright, I'll skip buying any hardware and just study with virtual machines. Saving money is always good.
  • Options
    VeritiesVerities Member Posts: 1,162