New to Certifications

ns_frankns_frank Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

I just joined this wonderful website and I love it already. I am a recent college grad with a computer and information systems degree. I work as a full time network administrator at a school. I am also half way done with my Master's which is in Information Assurance. I want to go in the security filed of I.T and start looking at some certs. I was looking over at the Security+ and wanted to know if that's a good one to start with. If so, what should I use to study? Are paying for classes worth it? ($1000-$2000). I hear about professor Messer. Any thought? Please help. I really want to go into the right direction. Right now, I am 22 and lost. icon_rolleyes.gif

Comments

• NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    ns_frank wrote: »
    I was looking over at the Security+ and wanted to know if that's a good one to start with. If so, what should I use to study? Are paying for classes worth it?

Yes, good one to start with

For study, I recommend Gibson's Security+ book (was my only resource I used when I passed it)

No, classes are definitely not needed for this cert. Can pass by just using the one book imo.
  • LexluetharLexluethar Member Posts: 516
    Congrats and welcome.

For security I would look to start off with Security+, if you are adventurous and daring you could start working towards your CCNA with security.

Classes are generally not worth it and will cost an arm and a leg for the same content you can find in a book (although you have your BS so you are already aware of that :))
  • 636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Can easily do Security+ without classes. I recommend Darril Gibson's book, it's all I used back in the day and people here still seem to recommend it.
  • beadsbeads Member Posts: 1,531 ■■■■■■■■■□