Debating if I should continue studying SEC +, or learn something else..

kcos0320kcos0320 Member Posts: 32 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have been studying for about 2 years for Comptia Sec + and I have failed the exam twice.
I keep on trying different ways to learn the material, but it does not want to click. (Professor Messer, Online Class, and a Live Class.)
First I thought reading a Darril Gibson's book, then I tried using quizlet and created my own studying page. I included terms, ports, on virtual flash cards, still did not click. Then I decided to create flash cards for all the terms for security +. I have been reviewing these cards for about 3 months and it still does not want to click. I am confused on what else I need to do? Do I stop or pursue another Cert like Linux/CCNA/CEH?? Any ideas would be appreciated.

Comments

• DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Your call, I've done both. Kept at it and finally broke through and I've bailed after a couple of fails too. What are your goals? Personally to me Linux sounds like a good time, but I am geek and like operating systems.

You can only answer that question.....
  • TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Linux/CCNA/CEH any of those 3 is even harder than Security+. Then again it dpends if you have more interest in the material under those certificates.
  • thomas_thomas_ Member Posts: 1,012 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If you're in a place where there are a lot of DoD contracting jobs, I would probably keep at it until I passed.
  • Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    TheFORCE wrote: »
    Linux/CCNA/CEH any of those 3 is even harder than Security+. Then again it dpends if you have more interest in the material under those certificates.

^^ True.