Will automation and virtualization lessen the demand of Network Engineers

mgmguy1mgmguy1 Member Posts: 485 ■■■■□□□□□□
I recently discovered a Podcast called Packet Pushers and I am been listening to the show Network Break everyday after work for the last few weeks. Network Break Panelists discusses the latest news in the IT world and specifically Data Centers and Enterprise Networks and I am becoming more concerned about how SDN will allow companies reduce their IT staff . While I am still learning about SDN there is great potential for it to solve some problems and give us better visibility into our networks but I am lerry of corporate america using SDN to reduce head count and better their bottom line.

Am I thinking too much on this . I realize that we all have to keep our skills fresh and current but if you think about the pool of people every year who are just coming on-line to networking and for those of us who have been in the IT business at different levels/sections who must learn these new technologies I wonder about head count. If an IT staff has 10 people and SDN allows them to cut 5 people due to automation and virtualization and then these people go try to find another job where the industry is moving to automation and virtualization won't there less headcount over all ?

I'm looking for some feedback on this. Thanks in advance for your thoughts
"A lot of fellows nowadays have a B.A., M.D., or Ph.D. Unfortunately, they don't have a J.O.B."

Fats Domino

Comments

• TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    To quickly answer your question, no that won't happen, there will always be a need for people at different levels. Automation simplifies things for the end user but makes it more complex for the IT people.

The same question you brought up here was asked on the CCIE section of this forum, people were worried if it's worth it now to get CCIE because of automation. Look at the section and read the thread.