Help me fill gap between OSCP Labs and Exam

ChopteethChopteeth Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone, bit of background, I'm in the process of finishing up the OSCP Labs now. I wasn't sure I would make it in 90 days, but now that I have almost 2 weeks and only 3 machines left in the labs I feel very confident I won't need an extension. The bad news is that I was waiting on scheduling my exam to see if I needed more time, and now the earliest date I can get is 3 weeks after my lab time is up. I know I'm going to be a nervous wreck those 3 weeks, so I was hoping you could recommend me some study material to help fill the gap. I know the actual stuff on the exam is super secret, but just general areas you think would be good to brush up on, that kind of surprised you on the exam, would be really appreciated. Maybe even some machines on vulnhub or something. Anything is better than just waiting it out!

A bit of background about myself, I am very new to IT/Security, having worked in a completely different industry before. I only started in IT less than 2 years ago and Security less 1 year ago. I know there's a lot of people on here who are looking to get into Security work or have questions about taking the OSCP without much prior experience. Please feel free to use me as a resource for any questions you might have!

Comments

• BlackBeretBlackBeret Member Posts: 683 ■■■■■□□□□□
    To fill the time between them take a look at vulnhub. If you google around you'll find people recommending particular machines to practice with prior to the exam. Also, don't forget what you learned with writing buffer overflows, try downloading vulnserver and playing with it for a while too.
  • ChopteethChopteeth Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
    BlackBeret wrote: »