Job Title for CCNA with basic IT experience

sillymcnastysillymcnasty Member Posts: 254 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey:

So I am taking my ICND2 on Monday, I assume I will pass because, hey, positivity. I've been working in IT for a few years, and have a bachelors. I know my cisco stuff, I just haven't been responsible for it at work. If there's an outage, I report it. That's the extent of my work experience with it. So yes, I know how all things CCNA related work, I just haven't gotten paid to do it.

I've been looking at and applying for a few jobs, but I've been mainly looking at Network Engineer. That seems to be the jobs that relate mostly to CCNA. But most of these seem to NOT be entry level type jobs for people with CCNA. So I was wondering:

Am I searching for the wrong title? If so, what would be the job title one step below this? Just semantics I guess, but just wondering. Or should I just buy load balances and firewalls and home lab my way into interviews, because this is as entry as it gets with CCNA?

Comments

• VinnyCiscoVinnyCisco Member Posts: 176
    I would try NOC Technician Tier 1 or Level 1. Some of the more seasoned Network guys on here will chime in I am sure.
    "Failure is the prerequisite of Success" - V. G.
  • markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Agreed, I would try a NOC technician or Network Administrator or Junior Administrator. Usually the word Engineer is for higher level roles, but that's not always true of course.

If you have zero experience managing networking equipment you're probably looking at a NOC as your best bet to get experience. Depending on your other experience though, you could get into a hybrid-type role. E.g. you're great at systems admin, find a sysadmin role that has some networking involved. With a CCNA and having experience with systems, companies are probably fine that you haven't managed them much if there's someone else there to teach you a little.
  • sillymcnastysillymcnasty Member Posts: 254 ■■■□□□□□□□