Options

Opinions on Certifications

Vontech615Vontech615 Member Posts: 50 ■■□□□□□□□□
I work in IT as a Network Analyst, have a CCNA R&S as well as misc like A+ and Network+, and am looking to delve into security as possibly a new career path within the industry. I've got about 8 years of experience working in technical roles but only 1.5 years in large Enterprise networking. However, I've been fortunate to get a lot of experience in that time.

I've been looking at something that's not only going to gain some attention on a resume, but also give me valuable knowledge. What I'm finding is a cert like Security+ would be great for HR and keyword searches, but an OSCP or equivalent would be best from a learning perspective. What about a GIAC as a starting point? It seems that cert doesn't come up nearly has much as the Sec+.

Comments

• Options
    DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
  • Options
    iBrokeITiBrokeIT Member Posts: 1,318 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Security+ and then CCNA:Sec would be a good compliment your CCNA:R&S.

If you can get your employer to fork over the $6k+ for a SANS class + GIAC cert, by all means do that too but most people can't afford it.
    2019: GPEN | GCFE | GXPN | GICSP | CySA+ 
    2020: GCIP | GCIA 
    2021: GRID | GDSA | Pentest+ 
    2022: GMON | GDAT
    2023: GREM  | GSE | GCFA

WGU BS IT-NA | SANS Grad Cert: PT&EH | SANS Grad Cert: ICS Security | SANS Grad Cert: Cyber Defense Ops SANS Grad Cert: Incident Response
  • Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    If you're thinking of some pen testing, a word of warning - you need to know a lot about a lot of stuff to be good at it. Anybody who hires you based on the OSCP is going to hire you to be a pentester. OSCP isn't used for hiring for regular old security admin roles