Pay scale

ensaneensane Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
So quite awhile ago, thanks to this forum. I landed my first IT job. I've been working there at a help desk for about a year now. I'm looking for some advice about pay rate. Shortly after I started there (maybe 3 or 4 months) I discovered I make roughly half the salary of everyone else in the same position and to this day I am still the least paid employee there.

I have little to no experience with salary negotiation, so I approached my manager, simply asking what the steps would be to perhaps change subcontractors on the contract. The response was: because of my title (apparently I was hired as a "network administrator" even though the duties are of a help desk) and because my subcontractor is tier 2 support, I am only allowed to move to the main contractor, if at all.

However, to do that I would have to move into management or a technical position that requires years more experience and papers than I could provide.

So if you've made it through that, my question is: is this a "suck it up and keep working", a "ask the subcontractor for a large raise", or a "potentially visit Indeed.com" situation in your opinion?

Comments

• thomas_thomas_ Member Posts: 1,012 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I think it's time to start looking for a new job. I personally wouldn't bother with the other options you listed, except for sucking it up and working until I got an offer letter in hand for a new job.
  • sillymcnastysillymcnasty Member Posts: 254 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Work until you can leave.
  • markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Yeah I agree with Thomas, you're better off going somewhere else. If you're stuck at that position and they aren't paying you more you're just spinning your wheels there
  • NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□