Was this dumb of me?

wrfortiscuewrfortiscue Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
So I'm working helpdesk and I applied for a internal firewall position. They liked my resume but I have no experience just a ccna security along with other certs. Problem is I don't use these skills and forgot most things. I'm also terrified of interviews but I push myself like this because I'm getting depressed not moving forward. My anxiety is killing me because I'm going to look foolish lol.

Comments

• PJ_SneakersPJ_Sneakers Member Posts: 884 ■■■■■■□□□□
    I don't think so. What's the worst that can happen?
  • wrfortiscuewrfortiscue Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I don't think so. What's the worst that can happen?

Higher ups no I'm not ready to move up, I get butthurt and my self esteem crashes? Lol better than giving up though...
    Well, if you don't get it, it probably wouldn't be the first time someone said "no" to you, and it definitely won't be the last. Don't ever pass on an opportunity if there's a chance it will work out. I passed on one last month and I'm kicking myself for not trying for it.
  • UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    Refresh your CCNA security knowledge. Be up front and tell them that you don't use the skills hence you forgot a lot but you are very interested and want to move to this area ....they will understand
    Certs: GSTRT, GPEN, GCFA, CISM, CRISC, RHCE

Check out my YouTube channel: https://youtu.be/DRJic8vCodE 

• jacksonrjacksonr Member Posts: 106 ■■■□□□□□□□
    What would have been dumb, is to not apply and sit there in Helpdesk feeling down, deflated and thinking What If.

Good luck, let us know how it goes.
  • anhtran35anhtran35 Member Posts: 466
    Be honest. Tell them you don't have the experience; however, you are willing to do everything to catch up. Sell yourself and your ability to learn and adapt quickly.
  • gorebrushgorebrush Member Posts: 2,743 ■■■■■■■□□□
    How will you find out if you don't go for it?