Just curious

beach5563beach5563 Member Posts: 344 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm fairly new to the virtualization world. Background started with a lot of Nortel Telecommunications programming and basic IT support jobs followed like tech support, data center monitoring, and now telecom/network infrastructure work. I was planning on getting back on the Cisco track for ccna and maybe ccna data center. I started hearing a lot about AWS certification. I guess my question is if I want to go town the virtualization/cloud track from a networking prospective would it make sense to just get the VMware networking or maybe VMware data center track? Seems like AWS is more DevOps stuff. I love Data Center and networking. I don't know if I'm wording all of this right just trying to figure some stuff out I guess.

Comments

• LexluetharLexluethar Member Posts: 516
    I would avoid AWS simply because it pigeon holes you to do a specific thing. I would also avoid vmware networking as there are not a lot of companies using nsx.

CCNA imo would be a solid start for networking. It's widely known and respected and should help you land a job at any cisco shop. There is juniper but the majority of companies right now are cisco.

Vmware is a close second buy not every company uses vmware for virtualization.

Do what interests you the most, but for a pure market play to get into IT CCNA will give you a better chance. Not because of the certification but because more companies are cisco compared to juniper. I think vmware is still the market majority but not by much. Oh and to be vmware certified you have to take a $3,000 class.
  • beach5563beach5563 Member Posts: 344 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Ok thanks so much. I'm feeling the Cisco stuff right now. I may do the Collaboration Path because of my telecom background
    Collaboration is huge, most Cisco shops use it for telepresence and quality engineers in that field are hard to find IMO.
  • burfectburfect Member Posts: 128
    Lexluethar wrote: »