Passed CISSP on the 25th of July 2016- Details Inside

gradecricketergradecricketer Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I took the CISSP exam on the 25th of July 2016 and passed (First Attempt). Apologies for the delay in the write up as I went on a holiday right after that.

This forum has helped me a lot and I would like to share my experience so far.

Experience:

I have a Masters in ICT and I have been working in a Govt department for the last 4.5 years as a Snr. Systems Admin with the last two years focusing on DR, PKI and Compliance.

Study:

I first started thinking about this exam a year or so ago when my mentor suggested this as something I should look at in the future. I had someother certs I needed to do before I started this one. I started the preparation on the 15th of May 2016. I had the Shon Harris 6th Edition and the Sybex 7th Edition. Then I found out about Cybrary and I thought I would give that a shot first

1.) Cybrary - 9/10

I have to say that helped a lot in easing me into the subject matter and it was to the point. Kelly has a way of explaining concepts which I could relate to easily. I took notes as I went through and it took me 2 weeks to complete the Cybrary CISSP.

I reviewed my notes every 3 days or so

2.) Sybex 7th - 9/10

After the Cybrary CISSP, I started reading the Sybex 7th Edition based on the feedback I saw on this forum. It is very detailed and there was a lot of fluff for some topics. I started with the biggest domains first (3,4,1,icon_cool.gif and then did the small ones. I took notes while I was doing this. I would finish a chapter and take the review questions at the end of each chapter and then gauge my level of understanding for each chapter (Not totally relaible from an exam point but gave me the confidence that I was understanding what I was reading and taking notes).

My review exam scores were around 79% after all 21 chapters were done.

I reviewed my notes every 3 days or so