SSCP Passed!

kboadu22kboadu22 Member Posts: 6 ■■□□□□□□□□
Took the SSCP exam today and passed!

Overall Preparation (about 1 month after taking the network + exam)
1. Read and study the Darril Gibson All In One book once. The second time, I went over the stuff I wasn't sure about. Did the practice exams twice.
2. Had a Security + book skimmed over that, and did the practice exams from it. It also came with some labs which help too.
3. Repetition is key!

Test Experience
1. The test is not that bad if you have taken the security +. Before the exam I have taken the network + at mid July. Took a few days off then i started studying for the SSCP. It had some net + and Sec + concepts which I already knew about, so that kind of helped me a lot.

Now I just need to get through the endorsement process to be certified.
THANK YOU GUYS FOR ALL THE SUPPORT!

Comments

• DAVIS NGUYENDAVIS NGUYEN Member Posts: 1,472 ■■■□□□□□□□
  • NavyMooseCCNANavyMooseCCNA Member Posts: 544 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Congrats on passing! :)

I'm currently studying for my Security+ exam and have an interest in Incident Handling and Forensics. Is this certification a re-hash of Security+ or is it more advanced?

'My dear you are ugly, but tomorrow I shall be sober and you will still be ugly' Winston Churchil

• dizzy_kittydizzy_kitty Member Posts: 95 ■■■□□□□□□□
  • ratbuddyratbuddy Member Posts: 665
    Is this certification a re-hash of Security+ or is it more advanced?

I'd like to know this as well.
  • kboadu22kboadu22 Member Posts: 6 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I would like to say its a re-hash of the security +, it kind of serves as in reinforcement after the security +. The SSCP goes into deeper topics especially for forensic & incident response. What i would recommend is to do the security + first, then go for the SSCP. This will give you 35 CEs towards your Security +! For the security + you only need 50.

-Soon i have a feeling that ISC will up the SSCP standards and it will be more harder and recognizable.