Options

should i get the trio?

nnayr3nnayr3 Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
Right now i am studying for the A+ cert. on my own and just got into a year long CCNA program at the local community college . What are your thoughts on getting the comp tia trio?

I understand not working in the field and having no experience makes it harder for me to get a job or good money which is why i would like to get the a+ cert or trio so i can start working and get a little experience while im in the program.

How hard do you think it will be do study for those while i am in the CCNA program.

advice? thoughts, personal stories?

Comments

• Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I wouldn't bother with the N+ if you're working towards your CCNA. Security+ is a good cert to get though.

I don't think it would be that difficult to study for them. A year to study for the CCNA is a very long time, so you should likely have enough free time to study for the other ones.
  • Options
    Hey just curious. what are your thoughts of it costing me $2000 450 a semester + fees for the CCNA program at the community college? keep in mind i have no experience except being self taught
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I think it's a waste of money personally. There is more than enough material to learn and lab yourself. Plenty on line resources to ask for help as well (hint hint here!) when something isn't clear.

If you have the means to pay and enjoy classroom learning it can only help though.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    MowMow Member Posts: 445 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You'll get more out of working in a classroom with other people pursuing the same goal, IMO. Some of those people might go on to work in networking, so you can build your professional network, starting there.
  • Options
    that's kind of what i was thinking too. Being around like minded people in the field