My CCIE Security (thread)

KrekenKreken Member Posts: 284
I was debating starting this thread for some time. I am not a blogger but I realized I need a reminder.. so here it is.

A bit about my background. I started getting involved with network security around 2007-2008 when I was working as network engineer. Over the years, I drifted more and more into the security realm. It became my main focus two years ago.

Originally, I started studying for CCIE R&S but as my focus shifted so has my studies to CCIE Security. Overall, I am studying for CCIE(s) on and off for a couple of years now. Mostly reading books and watching training videos. I would have continued that trend for years if it wasn't for my team lead at the previous job, who is also CCIE, and my wife. They pushed me to actually take the next step. Albeit, my wife pressured more; she wants me to finally cross the 200K mark.

I passed written two weeks ago and now waiting on the schedule to show up for December. I plan to make my first attempt in mid December and second end of January.

As for study plan, I will probably read one more book about ISE (Cisco ISE for BYOD), catch up on GETVPN, take Narbik Zero to Hero on 27 Aug and spend the rest of the time practicing configs.

For my home lab, I don't have much. I have 1x3560, 2x2950 and 1x1602i AP. Four lab topics can be practiced in GNS3 and using these three switches. For the other two, I bought a server on ebay which comes in today. The server is DL360 G6, dual quad core xeon 2.26GHz, 72GB RAM, 4 NICS, P410 Raid controller and it costed me $91 (+ $50 s&h). Plus 2x300GB SAS 10K RPM disks for $50. I will install esx and then spinup vms ISE, ACS, WSA, WLC, AD and another host for GNS3; will do a breakout from GNS3 to 3560.

Comments

• IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod
    One of us! One of us! :P
    BS, MS, and CCIE #50931
    Blog: www.network-node.com
  • NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□