MCDST -- I've had no hands-on experience...

BladeRunner5BladeRunner5 Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
...Should I be studying for this?

I haven't worked in the IT industry and haven't got any IT qualifications (only up to GCSEs.) From what I've researched the only job I really want to do in IT is MCDST related; working at the help desk etc. But not A+/hardware related.

What advice do you have as I'm not sure what to do?

As I've had no practical experience would one of those expensive e.g. Computeach courses really be worth it?

I've just got the "Microsoft Self-Paced Training Kit" for the 271 exam. I'm not sure studying on my own would get me the cert, and even if I did I wouldn't have any practical experience...

Thanks.

Comments

• LukeQuakeLukeQuake Member Posts: 579 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Welcome to the fourms!

My advise to anyone who wants to start doing MS certs would be to start with the MCDST exams, they give you a solid ground to build on up to MCSA / MCSE.

You say that you have no experience, so you may be best setting up a home lab environment, just play around with what you are learning from the books. Also offer your services to family and friends, they will be more than grateful when you clean their machines of viruses / spyware and you will be getting some real world experience.

All the best!
  • BladeRunner5BladeRunner5 Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the info.
  • janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    The Self-Paced Training Kits will give you a lot of what you need if you follow along and work the examples out on your own copy of XP and Microsoft Office.

If you really want to get to the Helpdesk, you may want to consider the certs that Help Desk Institute(HDI) offers. These are more about dealing with the phone callers.

Good luck!
    "It doesn't matter, it's in the past!"--Rafiki
    Thanks that's v.helpful, at least if they're in the UK...

The question is will: