Another August CASP Casualty

DntH8MeDntH8Me Member Posts: 73 ■■■□□□□□□□
So I failed the CASP 8/31 icon_redface.gif I'm still not sure how I feel about that.

Before taking the exam I had everything all planned out that I was going to get the certification and move right into the CISSP, now it feels like the exams are like the Mjölnir and I am not worthy. I'm not sure where the disconnect was between what I studied and what was actually on the exam. I just know by question 35 I was already feeling defeated (and that was skipping over the sims). I pretty positive that it was my fault, I studied - BUT I have to ask myself did I really study? I read the Sybex book, watched the Cybrary.IT videos, did the skillport training only to figure out that apparently none of the material really stuck when it was test time.

The bright side of this is that was Aug 31 and that experience is behind me. I can take that as my lessons learned and take a new approach to ensure I'm successful the next time.
2019 Certification Goals: ​CEH | PenText + | CISM? | stop procrastinating

Comments

• JC DentonJC Denton Member Posts: 20 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Damn....sorry to hear that, man. But I would say you don't need to feel bad or defeated as CASP is by no means an easy exam. For example, I have a fair amount of experience with hands-on security stuff and I recently decided to pursue this as my career (away from sysadmin and network admin positions). So, I took and passed Security+ in Decembar last year. After that, I studied for SSCP and by March 2016. was, I would say, 100% ready, but at the last moment I decided to skip it and go for CASP. Then I studied for CASP for almost 3 full months (even took a week off from my job to do it)...Even after all this, when I was sitting the exam, I was stunned how complex questions were. Also, PBQs were very tough on average.