Passed Security+ SY0-401 today, my thoughts

atippettatippett Member Posts: 154
Some background on me (if you happen to care):
  • Senior in college, majoring in IS with a concentration in IA/cybersecurity
  • Currently interning in a Network Engineering department, started in 05/2016
  • No IT experience other than my internship
  • No other certifications
What I studied:
  • I read the CompTIA Security+ All-in-One Exam Guide, Fourth Edition. ISBN: 9780071841245
  • Did the practice questions in the book
  • GCGA premium account, the $30 membership
The exam was pretty difficult. I passed with a 767 (750 needed to pass). The book that I read, mentioned above, gave me pretty much the basics of everything I needed to know. However, I feel the GCGA premium account really hammered in the concepts better. Every cert I take from now on, I will buy the GCGA book version for that cert. Also, the performance based questions were almost identical to the ones in the GCGA premium account. The questions on the GCGA premium account were the best preparation for me. It gives you somewhere near 400 questions in the account.

I was only asked 1 port question on the exam, which was SMTP. MAKE SURE YOU KNOW VPN's. I had about 6 or 7 questions on VPN's alone.

I'm not sure where to go from here, probably the Network+. Since I'm just in college I have time to complete the upper level certs.

Comments

• TechnicalJayTechnicalJay Member Posts: 219 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Congrats!

What do they have you doing in the network engineering department?
  • scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    Congrats!!
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • atippettatippett Member Posts: 154
    Congrats!

What do they have you doing in the network engineering department?