New to Security... Help reqd from Sec Pro's

linkadminlinkadmin Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey Guys

Need a help from all you pros out there , i am really very much interested in pursuing My career in information and network security , first of all i would like to share a little background I am a CCNA and currently working as a network support in an ISP and working towards my CCNP and on verge of completing the same .

But i am really interseted in pursuing my career in Security but as i am completely new to the field. i am not aware about any certifications available plz help me out how can i start working towards my goals

Help required is

1) Which certifications should i start with and the subsequent certifications that i have to follow to be the master or hw should i start my career

2) Which book I start with to pursue these certifications , also to enhance my knowledge

So waiting for the Big pro's of te field to help me out a fresher in the field

Regards

Comments

• determinedgermandeterminedgerman Member Posts: 168
    Hey linkadmin,

So much to learn......so many certs....

For starters you could check out CompTia's Security+ and go further into security with Cisco's CCSP which are 5 exams total compared to the 4 exams that you are taking for the CCNP. If you want to go into management later on ISC2 SSCP and CISSP are the way to go....CCIE in Security maybe down the road.....

There is so many choices it just depends on what exactly you want to specialize in.

Keatron is guy to talk to....he is the Security GURU of Techexams.net also a good person to talk to is Mikej412.....

Hope this helps.....

determinedgerman
  • sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I agree that starting with Sec+ will give you a good base from which to begin. As mentioned, if you like the Cisco track you can continue down that road with their security related certifications.