CCNA Security harder than CCNP R&S?

KoolsterKoolster Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi. I am currently studying for my Icnd2 and hope to have to my CCNA RS soon. After getting CCNA RS, is it better to go for CCNP R&S or CCNA security?

I have heard that CCNA Security is harder than CCNP and it's better to go for CCNP R&S before going for CCNA Security, since it's will be easier to understand after getting CCNP R&S.

Can somebody shed some light on the difficulty of CCNA security vs CCNP R&S? Thanks.

Comments

• TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    I don't think CCNP:R&S will make CCNA:Security easier to understand. Granted the exam has changed but CCNA:R&S covered routing and switching information needed....and the rest was security based material (not R&S related).

Are you working in a security role? Frankly, I would go for CCNP:R&S first just to have that solid foundation so you can start venturing down the security path if you want....and probably can land a networking job while you study for security.
  • KoolsterKoolster Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
    No, I am just doing deskside support at the moment. I am studying for ICND2 right now, but I will like to change jobs after getting my CCNA. I am just thinking which path to take first, CCNP RS or CCNA security. I would want to go for CCNP RS firs, but it involves 3 exams, whereas CCNA security is just one exam.
  • CE1028CE1028 Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Koolster wrote: »
    No, I am just doing deskside support at the moment. I am studying for ICND2 right now, but I will like to change jobs after getting my CCNA. I am just thinking which path to take first, CCNP RS or CCNA security. I would want to go for CCNP RS firs, but it involves 3 exams, whereas CCNA security is just one exam.