Options

Take RHCSA and RHCE at same time?

RHELRHEL Member Posts: 195 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi all. I'm currently in the process of mapping out my attack on the Red Hat certifications, and have some questions regarding the possibility of taking both the RHCSA and RHCE together as part of the "Red Hat System Administration III with RHCSA and RHCE exams (RH255)" official Red Hat course.

Some background: I've been a Linux geek for 15 years, but got my real start out of undergrad in Jan 2010 working full-time as a UNIX admin. Fast forward 6 years, I'm currently a senior level UNIX engineer, but manage mostly (90%) IBM AIX servers with only ~40 Red Hat servers. It has been on my wish list to attend RH training and take the RHCSA and RHCE for quite a while.

I'm pretty familiar with Red Hat and am seen as the Linux SME for my team. I'm currently implementing a Satellite 6 server and will be buying into RHEV (vs current VMware) in the near future. That being said, I strongly feel that I could pass the RHCSA with light studying right now on my own.

Getting to the real question... My work is bringing Red Hat on-site this month to give us a 4-day RHCSA fast-track course (without cert).

I have the option to go take the RHCSA shortly after the training... Or, I can wait until ~April of next year and take the SysAdmin III course which is a full prep for RHCE, but also includes both RHCSA and RHCE exams. Even if I took the RHCSA right away, I would still likely take the same formal training, which seems like it'd be a waste of money to pay for an exam twice.

What do you guys think? Is it a good idea to take both exams at the same time 6 months later? I'm afraid some of the critical points from the training will lose traction in my brain. We have a fairly large environment, and dealing with Red Hat is currently a small part of my day.