Failed

sysadmin101sysadmin101 Member Posts: 31 ■□□□□□□□□□
I took Sec+ and failed. I got 697. I am studying for retake. I took A+ and wanted to give Sec+ a shot.
The questions were hard. Any advice from those who passed.

Comments

• Infosec85Infosec85 Member Posts: 192 ■■■□□□□□□□
    What resources did you use? And do you have any networking experience?
  • NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Don't the Comptia tests give you a print out of how well you did on different subjects on the test?
  • scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    Darrill Gibson's book and online resources helped me on the second try.
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • sysadmin101sysadmin101 Member Posts: 31 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I used Darrill Gibson's book and Professor messer videos. I have about 5 years network experience.
  • Nik 99Nik 99 Member Posts: 154 ■■■□□□□□□□
    just out of interest how long had you been studying for this? I'm going for security+ next, so if you got any pointers do tell.
  • shochanshochan Member Posts: 1,004 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I studied for Sec+ for 9 mos (I wanted to make sure I passed the 1st time)...I used CompTIA's CertMaster online software questions (over 800 of them), watched Professor Messer's monthly live feed & bought his $10 comprehensive notes & watched majority of his YouTube videos. I also read through Mike Meyers book, ISBN: 9780071836449, and then went through all practice questions on CompTIA"s Security+ practice exams, ISBN: 9780071833448. Also, on your next attempt, I would go through the entire exam & answer all questions you "FOR SURE KNOW" and then go back & answer the tougher questions...I even skipped the performance based questions till the end too...Best of luck on your next exam! Cheers!
    CompTIA A+, Network+, i-Net+, MCP 70-210, CNA v5, Server+, Security+, Cloud+, CySA+, ISC² CC, ISC² SSCP
    shochan wrote: »