GSEC Questions

GeekyChickGeekyChick Member Posts: 323 ■■■■□□□□□□
There's an SEC401 class coming up in my town later this month. I was interested in going, but I wanted to see if anyone had done the class and test. I'm new to security, but I've been in networking for years in various capacities (although it was years and years ago). It sounds like it's an introductory class in security as long as you have a background in computers. Can anyone comment on the course and whether it is worthwhile for finding a job or how it compares to other entry level security certs? Thanks!

Comments

• 636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Very introductory, also a bit different than things like Security+. Review the topic areas and see how much exposure you've had to them. SANS classes are expensive if you're already familiar (but not conversant) with the materials in each class. Also figure out your takeaways. If you are stuck in network-land, then do you really want to spend $1000 of your $6000 learning more about AD? What do you want to get out of this class, and, more importantly, how are you going to apply the topics?

Also consider, something like GMON or GCIH may be a better fit depending on your skill level and job responsibilities
  • stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I've seen some job postings in Denver which state that they are looking for Sec+, CASP, CISSP, and/or any GIAC certification. So, it may well be a good way to differentiate yourself from others with that cert.
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me
  • GeekyChickGeekyChick Member Posts: 323 ■■■■□□□□□□