vcdx or bust

slinuxuzerslinuxuzer Member Posts: 665 ■■■■□□□□□□
Well after finally finishing school I have decided to attempt VCDX. I am VCP4, so I have about 20 hours study down for VCP 5 currently. I wanted to get some feedback from the veterans here about what the odds might be of me succeeding.

My background is,

I work for a fortune 200 company and have been heavily involved in about twenty five enterprise class VMware designs/deployments over the last four years. Basically me and another employee have designed and implemented the compute, storage, DR, and decent parts of the network for these deployments. Granted most of them have been very similar, but we have refreshed these environments all at least once and the migrations/refreshes have presented some unique challenges. I've become proficient with Netapps, HP Blades, very strong with VMware, decent knowledge of Cisco Nexus for a server guy, good knowledge of SRM. Only one deployment has featured fibre channel, the rest have been NFS, zero ISCSI. Basically my role the last four years or so has almost been an internal consultant.

So what I am wondering is, how well does my background fit up to what you guys would expect the successful VCDX candidate to be? I'd love to hear from a VCDX or anyone who has attempted the defense, but I value many TE members opinions. I am interested in any and all feedback, tips, etc.

My general game plan is 12-18 months, VCP5, VCAP-DCD5, VCAP-DCA5, design, defense. I am planning to travel to VMware pex 2015 for VCDX bootcamp if it's open to the public. I am estimating ~1k-1500 hour investment. I am single, no kids, workload at work has really dropped off, so I am hoping for 21 hours a week.

Why do I want to do this? I want the opportunity to work on the largest/toughest projects in the world, wherever I want in the world, and I want the financial rewards. I want to be able to reach a point in life where I can afford to give back to worthy causes of my choosing.