Preliminary Analysis Makes Me Keep Coming Back Here

johnITjohnIT Member Posts: 91 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello All,

let me just say I am surprised that the Username JohnIT was available. That's sort of my unofficial nickname at one of my client sites :D I am new to these forums, but a long time lurker. I work IT Help Desk for a non-profit but I am looking to get ahead in the industry. I'd love to move into IT Fiance or IT Legal. I do not want to stay at help desk, field technician or work in a call center. I like administration, monitoring, servers, and some network stuff.

After getting shot down in a couple of recent interviews, even though I have 3 years of IT experience with a Bachelor's Degree in MIS. I am just starting to realize that may not be enough and in order to climb the corporate ladder, the next step for me would be for me to get some type of certification. The thing is, I am not sure what ones I really need or where to start. I have a lot of questions before I get started on this time consuming and expensive journey. Especially for someone who doesn't have a lot of confidence in taking exams.

What I would like to do first is to take an easier exam to get a feeling for it, it would be nice to write down that I do have a cert of some type. I am interested in the Network Certs, the Server Certs, and eventually auditing or salesforce etc..

Is there any advice for someone who is a nervous test taker?? I'm really good at the labs, and the hands on stuff. I love dumbing down technology in terms that end users will understand, but sometimes I am not so good at the technical stuff. Unless I practice everyday, I will forget the terminology by the time the interview comes if I get the cert to match it. It would help of course, if I was already in a place that was technologically advanced, but alas I am not. Far from it.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.
Working on: A+, MCSE Server 2012

Comments

• Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□