Options

Endorsement questions:

huddahudda Member Posts: 101
Hi Everyone,

Thank you all for sharing the information:

I have a quick two questions.
First, from what I understood the endorsement letter is needed after I passed my CISSP exam, Am I correct ?
Second, I have over 10 years’ of experience in IT field, but not in security. I have been working as support, and patch management as system admin, currently as Microsoft Lync/Skype for Business analyst, I also have MBA degree and 3 years college degree in Computer System Network Technology, and Certified, MCITP, MCSE, CompTIA Security+, and ITIL. I keep worrying about what (ISC)² will say or will ask me , since I did not work in Security field. I have planned to take this exam before the end of this year, but I keep getting destructed, please asking your expert advice…..

Thanks in advance!
Hudda

Comments

• Options
    TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Yes the endorsement comes after you pass the CISSP. For the expires you need have 5 years experience in the CISSP domains listed. One year can be wait for a degree. So out of the 10 years you will need 4 years working directly in the CISSP domains.
  • Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    The experience requirement says that "candidates must have a minimum of 5 years cumulative paid full-time work experience in two or more of the 8 domains". There's no specific requirement to have an Infosec title or role. Any systems administrator, engineer, or many other roles can easily fulfill the requirement without being in a 100% security role. You mentioned patch management, which is totally valid. I only take offense when people try pass ridiculous tasks such as reading reports (with nothing actionable or practical) as security experience.
  • Options
    trueshrewkmctrueshrewkmc Member Posts: 107