Which security cert to start with?

scertsscerts Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
First a bit of background - I work as a s/w QA, so do have some knowledge.
I would like to switch my career to Cybersecurity.

Currently working on Security+ cert, as it is the most recognized, and also cheapest to pay out of my pocket :)

Am I doing it right guys? Please provide your valuable suggestions.

Thanks

Comments

• scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    What are you interested in, then go on from there. OR some people get certs because the job they applied for, requires one (like for my present job I had to get a MTA) I needed a Security + as well, but I already had that.
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • akanyakany Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi Scaredoftests,
    Do you know if it's okay to take Comptia Security + anytime soon even though the released date was over two years ago? I'm interested in taking the exam, but I was wondering what will happen if it is retired in the coming year. Any thoughts will be helpful.

Thanks!
  • mzx380mzx380 Member Posts: 453 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Don't mean to hijack but I would also like to know what is the best one to start with. I've been in IT for years and wanted more clarification if I should go for CISSP or CASP
    Certifications: ITIL, ACA, CCNA, Linux+, VCP-DCV, PMP, PMI-ACP, CSM
    Currently Working On: Microsoft 70-761 (SQL Server)
  • scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    Go to their website (CompTia) and look around. I doubt it would be retired, but updated.
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • shochanshochan Member Posts: 1,004 ■■■■■■■■□□
    mzx380 wrote: »
    Don't mean to hijack but I would also like to know what is the best one to start with. I've been in IT for years and wanted more clarification if I should go for CISSP or CASP

From what I read on here (TE), CISSP is for private sector jobs & CASP for gov't jobs...