New MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure

Commguy23Commguy23 Member Posts: 55 ■■■□□□□□□□
So I have been working towards my MCSE since 2013, I have earned the MCSA 2008, then the upgrade to 2012, then started working toward MCSE Desktop Infrastructure, took one of the two MCSE exams, studied and went to register for the next and come to find it was retired. So, I started my MCSE studies again geared toward the MCSE Server Infrastructure and have been studying for the 70-413 for the past year + and finally passed this exam today. Come to find out, I achieved an MCSE after passing the 413 (and did not have to take the 414).

I guess they are retiring the MCSE server infrastructure now, so I guess I do not need to take the 414, is this correct? I am pretty confused by the new certification path, it looks like they got rid of all the specializations for MCSE and now its just one for all (MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure).

Any reason to proceed now with the 414?

Comments

• Mike7Mike7 Member Posts: 1,107 ■■■■□□□□□□
    See https://borntolearn.mslearn.net/b/weblog/posts/microsoft-streamlines-technical-certifications
    certpath.gif
    [FONT=&amp]The resulting MCSE or MCSD certification will be added to your transcript and will never expire. Instead, the achievement date will signify your investment in continuing education on the technology. Every year, you will have the opportunity to re-earn the certification by passing an additional exam from the list of electives, demonstrating your investment in broadening or deepening your skills in a given Center of Excellence. Each time you earn the certification, a new certification entry will be added to your transcript. This process will replace the existing recertification requirement of taking a specific recertification exam every 2 years (MCSD) or 3 years (MCSE) in order to prevent your certification from going inactive[/FONT]