What IT sub-fields don't require strong programming skills?

PragmaticZealotPragmaticZealot Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm currently going to a local university and majoring in IT. My school's program is geared more towards the development side of IT, since a few programming classes are required. I'm not good at programming and I doubt I could do it for a living. What sub-fields of IT don't require programming?

Comments

• DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Service Management
  • beadsbeads Member Posts: 1,531 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Security in general is leaning harder into having good development skills though I see people fighting that battle daily.

GRC easily comes to mind. As well as infrastructure (Servers) and engineering (Routing and Switching). Though you will still be doing some basic scripting with either of those fields. Nothing fancy or you could do everything manually but be a martyr to the cause. Its just easier to learn some scripting. Windows Server 2016 looks heavy into powershell but as the old saw goes everything useful in PS has been written you just have go look for it or post on a board and we'll write the rest of it for you. icon_lol.gif

Surprisingly I find myself writing some fairly sophisticated scripts and queries almost on a weekly basis in odd things like Websense and MobileIron. The first is a web screening appliance with a HUGE database to ***** through the later being a Mobile Device Management system.

Of course your always free to pick up a teach yourself book in development and continue your learning as you progress throughout your career. Point being you can only put off learning some development only so long before you obsolete yourself in many IT fields. Not that you have been a master at it just familiar enough to get some basic tasks done.

- b/eads
  • HolyPuckHolyPuck Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
    beads wrote: »