Any one in GTA with CISSP OR CCIE security cert and a good job in InfoSec?

I have some questions specifically about the above two career options in Greater Toronto area.
Do we have any members here with above qualifications?
Will really appreciate a little help.
Thanks

Comments

• Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I'm not in your area, you can ask this in the thread you already have about security. And you don't need or a CCIE security to enter the security field.
  • kabooterkabooter Member Posts: 115
    Danielm7 wrote: »
    I'm not in your area, you can ask this in the thread you already have about security. And you don't need or a CCIE security to enter the security field.
    Danielm7 - Its very nice and encouraging of you to respond to my request for help.
    As you might have noted from my other thread I have been studying InfoSec for over 1 years now and was hoping to grab cissp before quitting my current help desk job for 2 decades. Obviously I am an outsider to the world or Infosec and have some questions like
    1. What kind of jobs are available when starting in infosec?
    2. Should I jump at first chance or wait for better position considering I already have ccnp and 20 years experience in IT?
    3. What exactly are responsibilities / day to day activities / challenges of various security jobs such as those of security analyst/network admin/security officer etc. This can help me pin point which direction I want to go towards, what to expect etc. I don't want to get into security jobs only to find that is similar to that of a programmer requiring me to fight with technical issues all day staring at monitor.
    and so on I find CISSP jobs to be more in tune with my natural inclination but what kind of job I can get into to start?
    As you can fairly simple newbie questions:D
  • kabooterkabooter Member Posts: 115