Quick resume question

DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
As far experience goes, if it's non related how far back do you go?

I graduated in 2000 from College and held a few government positions and corporate positions (semi low level), when can you begin to drop them from the resume?

I'd like to go back as far as 07 and list no more to be honest. Thoughts?

~9 years of history listed on the resume.

Comments

• tmtextmtex Member Posts: 326 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Yea sounds good
  • EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
    9-10 years is more than reasonable. Maybe add a line "previous experience available on request" to show you didn't start 9 years ago.
  • RemedympRemedymp Member Posts: 834 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Make a summary of those past experiences into one quick summary.
  • scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    10 years should be okay.
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • atippettatippett Member Posts: 154
    EANx wrote: »
    9-10 years is more than reasonable. Maybe add a line "previous experience available on request" to show you didn't start 9 years ago.

I'll have to disagree. A hiring manager only looks at a resume for, on average, 6 seconds. They will be looking for skills and jobs you did recently, not 10 years ago. Put as much experience to not overflow into the next page on your resume, if that makes sense. And, they probably won't even see that line in the 6 seconds they look it over.
  • mzx380mzx380 Member Posts: 453 ■■■■□□□□□□
    As far experience goes, if it's non related how far back do you go?

I graduated in 2000 from College and held a few government positions and corporate positions (semi low level), when can you begin to drop them from the resume?

I'd like to go back as far as 07 and list no more to be honest. Thoughts?

~9 years of history listed on the resume.