Passed LX0-103 today with full mark

egyasia.comegyasia.com Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello guys ,

I passed today with 800 out of 800 ,

Though I have over 10 years of experience in network,database and server administration generally but I really didn't expect to get this result because I only prepared for 2 weeks with about 2 hrs of reading everyday as I have a full time job and this exam is not like RHSA where reallife experience can help.

for example it's mainly focused on the basic linux file manipulation and different package management systems from different distros(rpm,yum,dpkg,apt-get etc) where in reallife you will be probably using only 1 distro with your fav package manager (say centos+rpm+yum)

another main focus is the VI editor which I don't know why anyone is still using and moving with hjkl when u can simply winscp the file to your workstation and edit the file in full fledged notepad++ or any other text editor or edit the file from the text editor of webbased control panel..etc ..so many easier solutions and more productive in my opinion.

I would advise anyone taking this exam with no linux experience to not focus alone on the exam ref advised by COMPTIA (SYBEX BOOK) as at least 20-30% of exam questions aren't covered for it but I got backed up through reallife experience , my blood pressure really went up through this exam while I was trying to memorize some details from 10-11ish years ago when I was using linux at home.It was difficult to memorize commands and options I haven't used in a while since as you all know now plenty of paid and free control panels and tools like winscp are making linux server management now lot of easier for everyday job.

Another important thing if you are new to linux to install it as a dual boot or vm and try every command with every option , this way you won't forget the command and options and also you will understand things better.