Job advice

bookbook Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I got a job offer for Network Test Engineer, but I feel torn, why? Now, I work as a Network Engineer, with Cisco and Alcatel specialziation, I understand my job, feel quite well, but still something more, new. As the Network Testy Engineer my main responibility will be testing new (prototype) network card, using Python, Linux and FreeBSD. One thing which push me toward this job is opportunity to learn Python. I do not know this language, and "they" look for someone with strong networking background, and give some time to learn Python - truth be told I would like to get know Python, but is should be enough motivation to change job? I am afraid that, I focus to much on card testing, and not much on networks.

Do we have some Network Test/Automation Engineer on this forum, who can tell something how that job looks like in daily basis. Is is not boring? Is that job developing? Please, tell some pros and cons.

Comments

• skswitchskswitch Member Posts: 50 ■■■□□□□□□□
    book wrote: »
    Hi All,

I got a job offer for Network Test Engineer, but I feel torn, why? Now, I work as a Network Engineer, with Cisco and Alcatel specialziation, I understand my job, feel quite well, but still something more, new. As the Network Testy Engineer my main responibility will be testing new (prototype) network card, using Python, Linux and FreeBSD. One thing which push me toward this job is opportunity to learn Python. I do not know this language, and "they" look for someone with strong networking background, and give some time to learn Python - truth be told I would like to get know Python, but is should be enough motivation to change job? I am afraid that, I focus to much on card testing, and not much on networks.

Do we have some Network Test/Automation Engineer on this forum, who can tell something how that job looks like in daily basis. Is is not boring? Is that job developing? Please, tell some pros and cons.