Options

Passed 70-385 MCSE Messaging Renewal

I had to renew a Microsoft certification for the first time and just squeaked by, both the score and the expiration. My MCSE Messaging was set to expire 5/31 and I passed this on 5/27 with a 739. When MS switched to a renewal model, I thought I would have to pass the next Exchange version. I was worried that the 2016 exams wouldn't be out by the time I needed to renew, and was pleasantly surprised by the introduction of a separate renewal exam. I received the expiration warning a month ago, opened the exam link to see the objectives, and then had to juggle the exam around projects and other requirements. I never studied for it, I decided that if I failed I would take the 2016 exams later.

I'm a consultant, so I have a ton of experience with 2013. However, most of that experience is migrations - either to 2013 or Office 365 - so I don't do any day-to-day administration, and that hurt me here. There was very little Office 365 or specific migration type questions. Some design questions, which were mostly wrong of course. It's bad when the MS exam authors don't even follow the MS preferred architecture for Exchange. Surprisingly, none of the questions included Answer E - "Fire the person who though this design was a good idea and rebuild it the right way." Also, case study questions, which always suck.

I believe it's been 2.5 years since I've taken a Microsoft exam. I can't say I've missed them and it's entirely possible that this was my last one. At least I didn't waste any time studying.

Comments

• Options
    powerfoolpowerfool Member Posts: 1,666 ■■■■■■■■□□