Options

Need Preperation suggestion for my CISSP exam Dec 2016

sameerzoomsameerzoom Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Dears,

I have completed reading and understanding concepts from the Shawn Haris text book
(I completed sawh harris as I had started it a year ago and stopped so I completed it again now as It was very good in expalining concepts)

Now shall I briefly gothru the sybex 7th edition and the new pearson videos, shall that be enough
and also suggest me which question bank would be good..... like ******** or someone I am not sure please suggest...

My Background: I am a senior networking engineer at an ISP
MCP, CCNA, CCIE-Security,CEHV8, ITIL,Prince2.

Comments

• Options
    logikillogikil Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I doubt that my experience with the CISSP was too different than most folks so I can give you an idea of my approach:

Given your existing certs you already have a foundation so that definitely helps. I really only used a total of 2-3 resources. I read the Sybex 7th edition book cover to cover. As I was completing domains in the book I was using CCCURE test engine in order to just test questions in that specific domain. When I added a new domain I added questions from that domain to the set and increased the number. At the end I was taking practice tests of about 100 questions or so covering all 8 domains.

I also used the MP3 files that they offer on CCCURE as well. I found those to be helpful to frame information in that management format that people equate the CISSP as having. Finally, I did flashcards. I found that I learn much better writing as I read, so after I read the book I essentially skimmed through and created flashcards for each chapter. This was more as a memorization technique than as a tool to use for me to study.