certification path to web application penetration testing

ZarakiZaraki Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have already taken comptia security+ and ccna and i have some experience with sql and php
should now i take ceh or rhce or cpte ? to start the right road to be a professional websites pentester
and what is the best certificate nowadays in web application penetration testing ? oscp ?
and sorry for my bad english
thx anyway . :D

Comments

• lucky0977lucky0977 Member Posts: 218 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I think all of the training programs offered by Offensive Security (OSCP, OSWP) are probably the best you can get right now. You can do it that way or do it the cheap way and spend countless hours on youtube trying to follow those examples.

Personally I have a hard time retaining information long term so I prefer to take baby steps.
    CEH --> eJPT and currently enrolled in eCPPT with the ultimate goal of attaining the OSCP and GPEN.

You're asking about strictly pentesting websites though. I think Offensive Security has a course and certification that deals only with that but you should go visit their site to see what they have to offer.
    Bachelor of Science: Computer Science | Hawaii Pacific University
    CISSP | CISM | CISA | CASP | SSCP | Sec+ | Net+ | A+
  • Mike7Mike7 Member Posts: 1,107 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Suggest you check web pentester job postings in your area to see what is in demand.
    OSCP is not an easy exam so you may want to start with another certification first.
  • 636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    What's your web background? Do you have any web coding experience? That's a HUGE help for web app pen testing.
  • jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Check out eLearnSecurity.
    https://www.elearnsecurity.com/course/
    Booya!!
    WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |